Cloud66 Deployment Failure When Upgrading to Rails 4

As you may know if you follow my blog. I develop on a Windows machine (and everyone hates me for that).

As I don’t know much about web server, vps, clouds, Capistrano..etc I decided to use cloud66.com to make deployment of code hosted on githib easier.

After upgrading to Rails 4, app worked on my local machine, but not on my production environment (digital ocean ) managed by cloud66

I received errors related to Capistrano and Psych which I know nothing about

/usr/local/lib/ruby/1.9.1/psych.rb:154:in `parse‘: (): couldn’t parse YAML at line 0 column 5 (Psych::SyntaxError)
from /usr/local/lib/ruby/1.9.1/psych.rb:154:in `parse_stream’
from /usr/local/lib/ruby/1.9.1/psych.rb:125:in `parse’
from /usr/local/lib/ruby/1.9.1/psych.rb:112:in `load’
from
/var/deploy/cloud66/shared/bundle/ruby/1.9.1/gems/capistrano-2.15.4/lib/capistrano/recipes/deploy/assets.rb:26:in
`parse_manifest’
from
/var/deploy/cloud66/shared/bundle/ruby/1.9.1/gems/capistrano-2.15.4/lib/capistrano/configuration/namespaces.rb:191:in
`method_missing’
from
/var/deploy/cloud66/shared/bundle/ruby/1.9.1/gems/capistrano-2.15.4/lib/capistrano/configuration/namespaces.rb:191:in
`method_missing’

So I have contacted cloud66 team, who advised it is an asset pipeline issue caused by upgrading to Rails 4. And they suggested to delete the manifest cache files (/var/deploy/tafqit-amesterdam/web_head/shared/assets/manifest*).

I logged in to my cloud66 dashboard where I have web console access to my server, I navigated in directories and deleted files as instructed and deployment went fine, now I have my site upgraded to Rails 4! What a joy!.

This was my first time where I had to navigate files on Ubuntu, but found out to be easy, simillar to DOS.

all Ubuntu console commands can be found here

Abandoned mine: view down rails (4 of 6)

Good bye old Rails 3

One response to “Cloud66 Deployment Failure When Upgrading to Rails 4

  1. Pingback: Cloud66 Deployment Failure When Upgrading to Rails 4 | Zacchaeus Nifong

Leave a Reply

